By Tony Beamish | 16 October 2026
In a landmark judgment with far-reaching consequences for millions of South Africans belonging to medical schemes, the Supreme Court of Appeal (SCA) has ruled that the Road Accident Fund (RAF) may not refuse to compensate road accident victims for medical expenses simply because their medical schemes have already paid those bills.
The unanimous judgment, delivered on Friday, 16 October 2026, represents a significant victory for Discovery Health and establishes important protections for members of other medical schemes, including those administered independently of Discovery.
The five-judge court, in a judgment written by Judge of Appeal Tati Makgoka, overturned an earlier Gauteng High Court ruling and found that the RAF and its then chief executive, Collins Letsoalo, had breached a binding court order.
The SCA prohibited the RAF from implementing two internal directives issued in April and November 2023, which sought to exclude medical expenses already covered by medical schemes.
The RAF and its CEO were ordered to implement the judgment immediately and report their compliance to the court within 14 days.
Why the judgment matters to every medical scheme member
Although Discovery brought the litigation, the legal principles confirmed by the SCA are not confined to Discovery members.
They apply to the RAF’s treatment of medical expenses paid by medical schemes generally.
This means that members of schemes such as Bonitas, Momentum Medical Scheme, Medihelp, Bestmed and the Government Employees Medical Scheme (GEMS) stand to benefit from the ruling.
The practical significance is considerable.
When a medical scheme member is injured in a motor vehicle accident, their scheme will ordinarily pay qualifying medical expenses according to its rules and statutory obligations.
Previously, the RAF attempted to refuse reimbursement of those expenses on the grounds that the claimant had suffered no financial loss because the medical scheme had already settled the accounts.
The SCA has decisively rejected that approach.
The court confirmed that medical scheme benefits arise independently of the RAF’s statutory obligations and cannot be used to relieve the Fund of its liability.
Importantly, the judgment also protects the ability of medical schemes to recover expenses they have paid, where their rules provide for reimbursement.
How medical schemes actually work
Understanding the significance of the judgment requires an appreciation of how South African medical schemes operate.
Unlike ordinary commercial insurance companies, registered medical schemes are non-profit organisations belonging to their members.
They operate under the Medical Schemes Act of 1998 and are regulated by the Council for Medical Schemes.
Members pay monthly contributions into a collective pool of funds from which qualifying healthcare expenses are paid.
The underlying principle is that healthier members help subsidise those requiring more expensive medical treatment.
A member who contributes relatively little in healthcare claims during a particular year helps support other members who may require major surgery, cancer treatment or lengthy hospitalisation.
Schemes must also provide prescribed minimum benefits, including specified medical emergencies, regardless of the member’s particular benefit option, subject to applicable regulations.
Consequently, money paid out for accident-related medical expenses comes from funds intended to benefit the collective membership.
When those expenses are legitimately recovered from the RAF, the money can be returned to the scheme’s funds rather than permanently depleting resources available for members’ healthcare.
This is why the judgment potentially benefits even members who never submit an RAF claim themselves.
Protecting members’ contributions
Consider a motorist injured in an accident caused by another driver’s negligence.
If the medical scheme pays R500,000 in hospital and rehabilitation expenses, that expenditure is initially borne by the scheme.
Where its rules require reimbursement, the injured member must repay the scheme from the corresponding RAF compensation.
The SCA has confirmed that the RAF cannot escape its statutory obligation merely because the scheme paid first.
This prevents the RAF from effectively shifting qualifying accident-related healthcare costs onto medical scheme members collectively.
Recoveries could help preserve scheme reserves and reduce pressure on future contributions.
However, the judgment does not guarantee lower medical aid premiums. Any financial benefit will depend on the amounts recovered, the scheme’s finances and its contribution-setting decisions.
Nor does the ruling entitle members to pocket the same medical expenses twice. Reimbursement obligations under their scheme rules remain applicable.
RAF accused of circumventing court orders
The SCA was particularly critical of the RAF’s conduct following an October 2022 High Court judgment declaring its original refusal policy unlawful.
After unsuccessful attempts to appeal that ruling, the RAF issued two further directives intended to achieve substantially the same result.
Judge Makgoka found that the directives were deliberately designed to circumvent the earlier judgment.
The court described the RAF’s conduct as an attempt to preserve the unlawful consequences of its original policy through different legal justifications.
It also rejected the suggestion that reimbursement arrangements between medical schemes and members constituted prohibited agreements to share RAF compensation.
The court confirmed the established legal principle of res inter alios acta, under which certain benefits received independently by an injured person do not reduce the damages recoverable from the party legally responsible.
This principle is particularly important because it prevents medical scheme membership from becoming a financial advantage to the RAF.
A victory beyond Discovery
The judgment reinforces decisions in other courts, including Road Accident Fund v Van Wyk and Madinda v Road Accident Fund, which similarly rejected the RAF’s attempts to exclude expenses paid by medical schemes.
Its significance extends beyond the immediate financial implications.
The SCA has reaffirmed that public bodies cannot evade binding court judgments by repeatedly introducing new administrative policies designed to achieve outcomes already declared unlawful.
For South Africa’s medical scheme members, the message is clear: their contributions are intended to finance their healthcare, not to subsidise the RAF’s statutory obligations.
The judgment strengthens the protection of those collective funds while preserving accident victims’ rights to claim compensation.
For Discovery, the litigation represents a major legal victory. For members of other medical schemes, it provides an equally important affirmation of their rights.
Read the judgment here